Express Your Vision, Show Your Talent-Adobe Lightroom

Greetings again Zensters and new readers!  Today we’re going to talk a little bit about post-production, more specifically, Adobe Lightroom. This is probably catered more towards the new photographer, but if you’re using another program to edit your images, or you’re currently using Lightroom but not 100% proficient, the following information might help you out as well.

lightroom-6

So what’s the difference between Lightroom and Photoshop??  Short answer- about $500. I joke, but honestly, to beginner photographers and even professionals, Lightroom is more than enough to edit and create stunning images. Is there a real difference between Photoshop and Lightroom?  You bet. A great explanation on the differences can be found here.

Lightroom is available to download a couple of different ways. If you go to the Adobe website, you can actually download a free trial which I believe lasts 30 days if I remember correctly. You can then “lease” their Creative Cloud package which includes Photoshop for $9.99/mo. US. The Creative Cloud Photography plan gives you Lightroom for desktop, mobile, and web, plus the latest version of Adobe Photoshop CC and new mobile apps like Photoshop Fix — all for just US$9.99/mo.

Lightroom is also available to purchase as a stand alone program for about $150 US. Amazon had the lowest price I found, you can download it directly or buy the disk to install.

create There are 2 big reasons I really like and recommend Lightroom for your Post Production work.

1. It creates a catalog of all the photos you upload and gives you the ability to quickly find a photo based on the parameters you requested. For example, I can do a search for every photo I’ve ever taken in Mexico and Lightroom will show every photo from Mexico I uploaded to Lightroom. I can even go as far as finding even photo I ever shot using a 50mm lens. When you’re dealing with thousands of photos, this is a big deal.

2. It is a non-destructive edit. This means that what ever I do to an image in Lightroom, the original never gets touched. This means that I can go back months from now and have the ability to visualize it in a different way. Most other programs use the original and make changes to it. Unless you had a copy of the original, it would be lost.

 

Learning Lightroom

There are literally hundreds, if not thousands, of online tutorials on Lightroom instruction. Some are bad, some are boring, and I wasn’t finding anything that really caught my attention. I sifted through the seemingly endless array of videos and websites until I stumbled upon a YouTube site hosted by Anthony Morganti. Of all the videos I’ve watched online, his were by far the most informative and easiest to follow along with. His series of Lightroom 6 / Lightroom CC Training Videos take you from the very basic introduction to all the advanced features of Lightroom in a language that is easy to understand. In addition to the Lightroom training videos, there are another 70+ Lightroom quick tip videos, Photoshop training videos and much more. I highly recommend paying a visit to Morganti’s YouTube channel and take a look. It’ll save you hours of searching, trust me on this.

 

Well, that’s your Enlightenment for today. Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed. Now get out there and create!

 

Namaste

 

 

** I would like to let you know that I have not received any sort of compensation for recommendations or review from Adobe, Amazon or Anthony Morganti. My passion is Photography and my motivation to teach others is pure. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

