Quick Tip: A Matter of Perspective

I’d like to share a series of photos that appear in my Twitter feed every so often with the heading “You won’t believe these aren’t Photoshopped!’, or something of that nature. The title has always bothered me a little, because, yes, I can believe it. I usually just roll my eyes and look at the images because I love these types of photos. I am usually not a fan of staged photos but I admire the imagination and simplicity of these. Perhaps you’ve seen them too:

img_4966img_4967img_4968img_4969img_4970img_4971

I think what I admire the most about these images is the simplicity and imagination that went into creating them. Too often we forget that we can tilt the camera. There’s probably a few of you out there that don’t even shoot the camera in Portrait view often enough. Pay attention. It can change a boring image into a keeper. Here’s one I took with my iPhone while visiting San Francisco a couple of years ago:

fullsizerender

You’re limited only by your imagination. Cliche, yes, but when you look at these examples, don’t you ask yourself “Why didn’t I think of that?” Yeah, me too.

 

 

(If you enjoy thought provoking images such as these, Philippe Ramette is an artist that produces great surreal imagery.  ((The second photo in the series above and the two below are examples)). It’s worth your time to take a look at some of his work.)

stunning_photographs_by_philippe_ramette_05

pr1

 

That’s all for today, nothing too profound, just a little “brain tickle”.  As always, “Thank You” for reading. We’ll see you next time.

 

Have a great day. Now get out there and shoot.

 

 

Leave a Reply

